TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Five members elected 1955, for three years)

DawsonV. C. Mellor MayoD. C. McGeachy Carmacks	Whitehorse East J. L. Phelps Whitehorse West R. Hulland A. R. Hayes
--	---

TERRITORIAL OFFICIALS (AS AT MAY 31, 1957)

Commissioner (Whitehorse)	F. H. COLLINS
Superintendent of Works and Buildings	K. BAKER
Registrar of Vital Statistics	H. TAYLOR
Legal Adviser	F. G. SMITH

The Director of the Northern Administration and Lands Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, is directly responsible for the general administration of the Territory under the Yukon Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 298) and that Department has three lands and mining officials stationed in the Territory. Other Departments of the Federal Government including Justice, National Revenue, Transport, Post Office, etc., also maintain officials in the Yukon Territory.*

Northwest Territories.—As reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, these comprise:—

- all that part of Canada north of the Sixtieth Parallel of North Latitude, except the portions
 thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfoundland, and
- (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

The Northwest Territories Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 331) provides for the appointment of a Commissioner to administer the government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. As a matter of practice the appointment is held by the Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. For administrative purposes the Territories are divided into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin (Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918). The Northwest Territories Act, as amended, also provides for a Council of nine members, four of whom are elected in the Mackenzie District and five of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has legislative powers respecting such matters as direct taxation, establishment and tenure of territorial offices, municipal institutions, controverted elections, licences, incorporation of companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a merely local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Territories and at least once each year in Ottawa which is the Seat of Government. The resources, except game, remain under the control of the Federal Government. The administration of legislation passed by the Commissioner in Council and the management of resources under federal legislation are carried on by the Northern Administration and Lands Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Administrative offices are located in the Territories at Fort Smith, Yellowknife, Hay River and Aklavik.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES (AS AT AUG. 19. 1957)

Commissioner R. G. Robertson

Deputy Commissioner W. G. Brown

Members of the Council—
Appointed Louis de la C. Audette, C. M. Drury, Jean Boucher,
W. G. Brown, L. H. Nicholson

Elected K. Lang, J. W. Goodall, Robert C. Porritt, John Parker

Officers of the Council—

^{*} Further information on officials of various Federal Government Departments serving Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration and Lands Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Ottawa.